12 Comments

Got Muse? A Few Questions for Writers


A quick survey type meme from leftywritey via Tasha blog.

1) Where do you write?

Coffee shop.

2) When do you write?

In the afternoon.

3) Planner or Pantser?

Panster with a bit of mapping along the way.

4) Coffee or tea?

Coffee shop equals coffee, ’nuff said.

5) Pen and paper, or computer?

Pen and legal paper pad. Computer later.

6) What gets you in the writing mood?

Music, pictures, dreams. Whatever works.

7) What pulls you out of the writing mood?

Anger, distractions, sleep.

8) What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever read/heard/received?

From On Writing by Stephen King: to paraphrase-Just Write!

9) Got muse?

Got caffeine?

10) Who is the biggest supporter of your writing?

My fellow writers and friends.

11) Sound or Silence?

Sound. That is why God invented the iPod!

Those are my answers and I am sticking to them.

😀

And now for a one of those sounds that inspire me:

12 comments on “Got Muse? A Few Questions for Writers

  1. Good vid. My long suffering significant other (LSSO) likes My Chemical Romance. She says it’s the sentiment in songs like Not Okay, but I’m pretty sure it’s more to do with pretty emo/goth boys (would explain the Twillight interest).

    Anyway, good meme I’ll follow the links back and use it myself. Cheers.

    Like

  2. Coffee might as well be creativity. Sound is necessary, I think. Silence just makes me blank out and lose direction. I need something to latch on to and then my brain takes it from there. It was really interesting to see another person who loves writing’s mini-interview

    Like

  3. I like this meme. And I’m with you on Stephen King’s book. I try to read it often enough that my hiney stays sore from him kicking me.

    Like

  4. Your answer for number nine made me laugh. 🙂

    Like

  5. Without coffee I would be in semi-vegetative state more often so I am with you there. Found you through the link on Em’s blog and I am glad you did it. It’s great to see how we all arrive at the same process of creating something in such different ways. While coffee I love, I can never write on paper–by the time I have written down a sentence I have lost the next ten. How do you do it?

    Like

    • Welcome to my humble blog Venus. Yes, coffee helps, especially after I gave up drinking (not that I wrote while I drank mind you). As for pen and paper, I like the feel of writing with a pen (I’m very “specific” about the types of pens and notebooks I use) and it allows me to do notes on the margins, scratch whole sections with a big blue X or simply write whatever I want. I tried using the computer but I always ended up staring at the blank screen without writing a single word.

      Like

  6. […] Muse? A Writer to Writer Meme Saw gypsyscarlett’s and ralfast’s answers to these questions posed over on Left in my Write Mind and decided to give them a crack […]

    Like

Leave a comment