11 Comments

Weekend Writing Warriors /8#Sunday/12/28/14


Welcome to my first entry into the Weekend Writing Warriors for Sunday, December 28, 2014.  This is an eight sentence excerpt from my current sci-fi work, Lessons of War. After the sudden and violent death of the Duke and Duchess de Havilland, their son Edward ponders what the future will bring and how can he fill their role:

The servos of uncle’s mobility assistant mech whirled loudly as he crossed the threshold.

“How are you doing, my boy?” he asked with a sad smile on his face.

I looked down at the carpet, “I’m fine uncle.”

He reached over and pulled me into a bear hug,”No, you’re not, my boy I know you’re not. But you are now the Duke, you must carry on.”

“How exactly do I do that, uncle?”

He put both hands on my shoulders, “You do what needs to be done. No matter what happens, you do what needs to be done.”

Well that is all for now. You can find the other entries of blog chain here. If you enjoy narrative in video games, feel free to visit my youtube channel.

11 comments on “Weekend Writing Warriors /8#Sunday/12/28/14

  1. Nice show of the relationship between the two characters. It reads like the uncle will play a key role in Edward’s development.

    Like

  2. Good dialog, and character building. I also liked the touch of world-building going on with the “mobility assistant.”

    Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors! We’re glad to have you. Happy New Year. Hope 2015 brings you happiness, love, and much success. 🙂

    Like

  3. Welcome to Warriors! Enjoyed the excerpt, nice to see the relationship between Edward and his uncle, along with some advanced tech. Great 8!

    Like

  4. I love the interaction between the characters and the way it reveals their relationship. Well done.

    Hope you have a Happy New Year!

    Like

  5. Future mech and archaic nobility—I like this already. 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh, I’m already intrigued by the glimpse into your world. I also love the warmth between Edward and his uncle. Welcome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

