12 Comments

Another Writer’s Meme


I got tagged by Amy to join another writer’s meme:

What was the last thing you wrote?

A couple of shorts for my Flash Fiction Friday posts. On the novel front I finished the first draft of my second novel, titled Sturm und Drang. Come August I go back to edit that monster.

Was it any good?

I like to think so. Started as a NaNo entry and grew from that. Hopefully it will be ready for the query stage come December.

Write poetry?

No.

Angsty poetry?

Again, no. Not my thing.

Favorite genre of writing?

I would say science fiction, although each project falls into its own category. I don’t worry about genre so much anymore, not after my first novel. I write what the story demands, no more, no less.

Most fun character you ever wrote?

A few. I liked Antony from Neither Here nor There… He is a bit of a Marty Stu, but I like to think of him as my exaggerated fictional self, in all things, good and bad.

Julian from SuD is also a favorite. Magnificent manipulative murdering bastard that he is.  Good thing about writing is that their will be others, many others, to come.

Most annoying character you ever wrote?

The Lady Exeter, she is a  self-serving manipulating bitch, straight out of a soap opera. Loved it when she got her comeuppance.

Best plot you ever wrote?

SuD is the one (so far). I liked how characters on both sides of the conflict acted and reacted to each others moves. The plot had an organic feel from beginning to end. I hope that future readers will see it that way.

Coolest plot twist you ever wrote?

Well I don’t want to spoil it but it involves betrayal, siblings and a couple of worldwide conspiracies.  Twisted enough, eh?

How often do you get writer’s block?

Anytime I do one of two things: a) try to force a character to do something outside of their nature, b) start down a illogical plot path just for the cool factor. Thou shall not violate either the characters essence or internal consistency.

How do you fix it?

Step back, relax and do lists. Lists of known character characteristics, list about location, plot points, etc, anything that will illuminate the path ahead.

Write fan fiction?

Once, maybe twice. Robotech related (obscure mid 80′s adaptation of Japanese Anime for the American market). Gave it up as soon as I started. Although I did write a TV show Bible for a Harry Potter based series, I think that might count as fan fiction, of a sort.

Do you type or write by hand?

Write by hand, at least in the beginning. I have stacks of legal notepads (white) full of chapters, notes and lists. Typing is transcribing, which is a pain, but a necessary one.

Do you save everything you write?

I try to. I worked with computers all my life and know what happens when things fail. Mr. Murphy and I are long time…acquaintances.

Do you ever go back to an idea long after you abandoned it?

I never really abandon my ideas, there are always in the back of my mind somewhere. But I look forward to the day I can give them the proper treatment.

What’s your favorite thing you have ever written?

Ever? I like everything I written so far (in the last 3 years or so). I have yet to written something that overrides everything else. Like I said, each story carries its own weight.

What’s everyone else’s favorite thing you’ve written?

The day will come when hundreds of adoring fans will duel in social networking sites over what is or is not cannon or what is the right or wrong shipping arrangement for my characters and massive flamewars will erupt and devastated the internet landscape over every minute detail of my work. Until the sales figures come in, I can’t really say.

Do you show people your work?

I do. Me of thin skin. But so far the reviews have been….cordial. So far. :D

Did you ever write a novel?

Two so far and counting.

Have you ever written fantasy, sci-fi, or horror?

Sci-fi and fantasy. Horror, not so much. I am not a fan of horror and I don’t know ho to pull off the suspense and scary bits. At least not yet.

Ever written romance or teen angsty drama?

Not big on romance, but it’s in there, somewhere. Teen angst? Not yet. Overdone in my book (as in I don’t have what it takes to pull it off).

How many writing projects are working on right now?

The answer is three, but really concentrating on one.

Do you want to write for a living?

Yes.

Have you ever won an award for writing?

Only entered one competition in college. No dice.

Ever written something in script or play format?

Not yet but geering up to write a movie script as soon as I finish with the research.

What character that you’ve written most resembles yourself?

Antony, for sure, although all my characters have a bit of me in them. I’m close to my characters that way. Antony’s life is peppered with a lot of auto-biographical stuff and I can’t imagine anyone playing him but me.

Where do you get the ideas for your characters?

Archetypes.  I seize on an archetype and go from there.

Do you ever write based on dreams?

By enlarge, no. But my dreams do influence what I write.

Do you favor happy endings, sad endings or cliff hangers?

So far happy endings, although they could be classified as bitter sweet endings. Cliff hangers are great for chapter endings but I like to end my novels on a clear point.

Have you ever written based on an artwork you’ve seen?

Not exactly, but I love using artwork as a narrative reference. It certainly gets my imagination going. I’m a big fan of deviantArt for that reason.

Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?

No. If I did I could no write a word. My inner editor would take over and obliterate everything under a massive sandstorm of doubt. I leave that for the editing process. The oh so painful editing process. One day I will hire a editor and let them do it for me. One of these days….

Ever written anything entirely in chatspeak (How r u)?

No, but I used in in my work to represent texting and email.

Entirely in L337?

Say what now?

Was that a question completely appalling an un-writer like?

No, just confusing. I think….

Are people surprised and confused when they find out you write well?

I write well? Really? Thank you for saying that!

Quote something you’ve written. The first thing to pop in your mind.

From SuD:

What we must do to protect the flesh tends to scar the soul.

Well that is it for the meme. No tags this time, but will tag the next time around.

See ya!

12 comments on “Another Writer’s Meme

  1. Awesome meme! And it was cool to get these insights into you as a writer. May have to do this one myself.

  2. I want to do this meme. I want to write for a living as well, trying to figure out how to do it. Will take me a while as I’m still in college.

  3. Nice. :) I like your quote, Ralph!

  4. I also really like the line you quoted.

  5. Shipping wars? I *love* it. :) :) :) :)

  6. Just skimmed thru that link you posted under shipping. Hilarious. Slap Slap Kiss…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,278 other followers

