4 Comments

My 30 Days of Writing-Day 13: Culture Wars


Day 13 of My 30 Days of Writing is brought to you by  Questionable Content, winner of the “Most Pop Cultural References We Can Cram in 30  Seconds or Less” Award.

Now unto the question of the day:

13. What’s your favorite culture to write, fictional or not?

Oh boy, culture. Well I have none.

That’s all folks.

If only it were that easy. Okay, it sort depends on each project. In  slice of life stories a ripped from modern/pop culture so those are generally easy, but when I go farther afield mining the cultural history of the world is the way to go. For example, SuD is a mixture of Japanese cultural reference and mythology with a heavy dose of Judeo-Christian mythology as well as western philosophy and culture. In fact the original concept of Stum und Drang (big cultural reference right there) was to explore basic concepts of human culture from literature, philosophy, religion and pop culture.

Of course, as an English Lit major, I’m particular to European history, especially the history of England. Since I’m not good at creating fictional cultural out of whole cloth, I decided that for RoE I would “borrow” from English history.

I know some of my readers will pick up on some of the hints I’m about to drop:

MC: Duke Edward de Havilland

Romantic Interest: Andrea, Firs Lady Elector of House Kaiser

Her Mother’s Name: Maria Theressa, Arch-Duchesses of House Kaiser

Edwards closest adviser goes by the name of Caratacus

And so on.

Not terribly original but there you go.

——-

Talking of culture, I bring you something from the early 1980s, a cool French/Japanese anime hybrid that combined the Odyssey with transforming ships and light sabers!

4 comments on “My 30 Days of Writing-Day 13: Culture Wars

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gary James, Rafael R Piñero. Rafael R Piñero said: My 30 Days of Writing-Day 13: Culture Wars : http://wp.me/p9UdM-l0 […]

  2. […] did you feel you did the best job of worldbuilding? Any side-notes on it you’d like to share? 13. What’s your favorite culture to write, fictional or not? 14. How do you map out locations, if needed? Do you have any to show us? 15. Midway question! Tell […]

  3. I’m dreading this question. I have a feeling my post will be similar to yours…oh well, at least we’re open about “borrowing” from European history!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,750 other followers

