3 Comments

My 30 Days of Writing-Day 7


A storm is brewing, our storm….

And its name is Earl. Stupid Earl!

Nothing much, except a few strong gust, some rain and after six hours the power is back on (hence I’m writing this and trying to post before it skeeters away).

Oh yeah, the question:

7. Do you listen to music while you write? What kind? Are there any songs you like to relate/apply to your characters?

Ah yes, zee music! Besides coffee, my other writing companion is my iPod. I create track lists for each WIP, whether it is the sad every day stuff of an ordinary life in Oxfordshire, quick battles against dark forces from Beyond or orchestral strings that  push men into distant battlefields on alien words, all of them have a soundtrack to them.

Not only that, but I can conjure specific scenes to the music. I listen to a track again and again until the image becomes crystal clear in my mind. Those are the pillars of my writing. Then I build the whole story edifice upon it. Nothing evokes such vivid imagery like the right song at the right time.

So no quiet time for me.

;)

——–

Talking about music, well what did you expect? More Keane for you- This is the Last Time:

3 comments on “My 30 Days of Writing-Day 7

  1. [...] are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper? 7. Do you listen to music while you write? What kind? Are there any songs you like to relate/apply to … 8. What’s your favorite genre to write? To read? 9. How do you get ideas for your characters? [...]

  2. Hey, just caught up with the other posts (left a couple of comments). I’ve done a complete u-turn on music, never used to be able to listen to it while I write. I’m gonna have a crack at these questions myself soon. Anyway, I hope Earl don’t cause you any problems, take it easy and keep safe!

    • More like the government run Utility/Power company sucks. But that’s what you get when neo-liberals are given the keys to the Governor’s mansion.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,434 other followers

