6 Comments

Still At It!


Do I ever!

Number of Queries Sent: 1

Number of Rejections Received: 0

Expect anything out of the first query, not bloody likely!

Why?

Because it sucked. For some reason I can’t write a query that’s worth a damn. I write a few first paragraphs, think they are swell and then once I had a chance to cool down I realize how much they sucked. I realized I wasn’t doing a good job conveying the reasons why this story is worth reading.  So I’ve gone back to the drawing table (again) and came up with a few questions and answers that (hopefully) will help me in the quest for a convincing query:

  1. What does the MC want? To have the sense of family he lost when his father left him.
  2. What are the stakes? Failure means he loses  hi connection to his brother Michale (personal stakes), the the village’s economy takes a dive (public stakes) and loses a chance for happiness with Christina (personal stakes).
  3. What is the MC up against? His inner demons, differences in culture (P.R. vs. England), scheming politicians, and his father’s image.
  4. What he must do? Establish a relationship with Michael, fill his father’s shoes, stop the deterioration of the village, and earn Christina’s forgiveness.

All well and good, but am still stuck in translating all of that to the query page (or email). Still at it, though, still at it!

——–

6 comments on “Still At It!

  1. Good luck! You can do it! :D

  2. Many otherwise insanely creative people have the same problem. Writing a brief description, which hits all of the required points in a timely manner seems to be the hardest thing a person can write, and even after years of practice, some authors still describe the process of crafting a query as a living hell. I can fully sympathize with the agony and frustration of boiling down all that work into one solitary page. Brevity has never been my strong point, and deliberately focusing energy into one page is my idea of a nightmare.

    Have you tried distilling the AW threads on queries into something approaching useful? It’s never going to be an easy thing to write, but you may as well take all the help you can get.

  3. The only thing worse than a query letter is a synopsis. *shudder*

    I wish you luck with this and I have faith that you’ll get it done.

  4. We all struggle with queries! For the first book I submitted, I re-wrote the query more times than I can count. I definitely recommend C.J. Redwine’s query workshop (http://queryworkshop.blogspot.com). It helped me whip mine into shape.

  5. Hang in there, Ralfast! Try to keep a good sense of humor throughout query road. It’ll help keep you (somewhat) sane. :)

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,257 other followers

