8 Comments

I don’t like writing prompts


My internet connection sucks! Good thing I’m switching companies, but it seems my current provider wants to poison the well before I leave their lousy service.

Of course, since they got bought off by AT$T they might be hoping that the customers of the current service will switch to whatever service AT$T provides.

Yeah, good luck with that.

On a different note (of the writer’s kind) I like to make the following announcement:

I don’t like writing prompts.

There,  I said it (if you didn’t miss the tittle then I said it again)

Don’t know why, except that it feels like homework. It’s like reading a book because I want to instead of because I had to. It is a pre-packed idea through which I have to shoehorn a story.

No dice.

I prefer stuff like this,to let the writer choose his source of inspiration rather than have it handed to him. Not to say that writing prompts, just like class reading lists are inherently bad, but they are not the only way to go when it comes to sources for reading or writing.

8 comments on “I don’t like writing prompts

  1. I don’t mind ‘good’ prompts. Sometimes they can stir the imagination, but generally, I agree with you. I can pretty much come up with stuff on my own, so I don’t usually participate.

    On a related note, I’ve experienced the downfall of imagination because children were always told what to draw, or what to write. I’ve handed a blank sheet of paper to students in my class before and almost all of them would stare at me, waiting for instructions. You should see the confused looks when I simply say ‘draw’. There is something to be said for developing self-initiated creativity. It is becoming a lost art in a society that needs it the most!

    Thanks for posting.

  2. My stuff is always so stilted when I write from a prompt. I’ve had one good experience, but other than that they just don’t work for me. But some of the Writer’s Digest prompted contest winners have great stories, so there must be something to be said for them. Perhaps I haven’t found any of the good ones JLC refers to.

  3. I’ve had a few ezine publications from prompts, and they’re always hadny when you’re in need of a little inspiration, but most of the time I’ve always got more ideas that I can write at any one time anyway.

  4. I like prompts when I’m stuck, and when I don’t have a word count I need to add to. When I’m mid-book and going strong, I don’t find them particularly useful.

  5. So the general consensus goes from “meh!” to “do not like!” I’m glad I’m not the only one. ;)

  6. I’ll agree with you on this one :) Yuck!

  7. I also despise writing prompts. Every time I try to write from a prompt, no matter from what, I inevitably stare the page trying to think of something, anything, to put down for it. Even essay prompts are more difficult than being given a general area and told to write from my own thesis.

    ~Lia

  8. [...] much as I don’t like writing prompts, I do like to write up shorts around new RPG characters concepts. They sort of serve as writing [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,655 other followers

