8 Comments

A Conversation With A Character


Happened sometime last night while editing my manuscript….

“No”

“What do you mean no?”

“I won’t do it.”

“But you know you want to.”

“Of course I want to, but the timing is all wrong. I wouldn’t go with him. It doesn’t make sense.”

“He said he was sorry.”

“I know.”

“So what’s the problem?”

“You know what the problem is.”

“OK, what would you have me do. I’m running out of space here. Two, maybe three scenes left, at most.”

“This is what you’re going to do-whisper,whisper,whisper-got it?”

“But that’s like at the very end? I don’t want to leave my readers hanging.”

“If they gone this far, they’re smart enough to figure it out on their own. Besides, always leave them wanting more, right?”

“I don’t know. I mean why stretch it to the very end. Sounds an awful lot like UST to me.”

“It’s either that or the drawer.”

“You wouldn’t dare!”

“Hey I’m just a character, remember? Trust me. When have I steered you wrong?”

“If the last six months don’t count then never.”

“You lost your way because you were not listening. I swear you and Anthony are too much alike.

“Well doh, I created him.”

“I’m done. You know what to do.”

Then I went to sleep.

:D

——

Oh and one more thing. Donna from Bites (a most excellent YA/Horror/Fantasy writer’s blog) got nominated for a blog competition. So here is a video for ya, Donna Duck! Hope you have better luck than this sucker…I mean fine actor:

8 comments on “A Conversation With A Character

  1. I no longer try to control my characters. Now we try to “compromise”.

    • True, but you can’t expect much seconds before you doze off to sleep,now can you? If I told you about last night dream which had the following items: Gerard Butler, J.K. Rowling, Spain, France, McDonalds, a beach, and a kid trying to go potty on sand while dodging giant crabs. That’s the problem with remembering your dreams, they come all out screwy!

  2. WOW. That’s a lot of elements in one dream. I rarely dream with famous people featuring in my dreams. Uh, not that kids going potty against the wishes of rampant giant crabs is a huge mainstay of my dreams either…. :)

    • I told you they were screwy! As for famous people, they usually don’t pop up, but I guess I was thinking about writing and lo and behold Jo pops up.

  3. :) Did she provide any great advice, or was the concentration rather crab-centric? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,653 other followers

